President Bola Tinubu appoint new service chiefs

 There was a gale of the sack in the nation’s security architecture, and ministries and parastatals, yesterday. There was a clean sweep as President Bola Tinubu retired all the service chiefs, advisers, and the Comptroller-General of Customs, and dissolved boards of Ministries, Departments and Agencies, MDAs and parastatal.

The president also replaced some top military commanders in a move that shook the security firmament of the country.

President Tinubu, who recently ordered the security chiefs to synergise and crush oil thieves and criminals, ordered the changes shortly before jetting out to France, on his first foreign trip as elected head of state.

According to a statement on behalf of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, SGF, by Mr. Willie Bassey, Director of Information, Tinubu “approved the immediate retirement of all service chiefs and the Inspector-General of Police, Advisers, Comptroller-General of Customs from service as well as their replacements with immediate effect.”

Those retired, yesterday, included Chief of Defence Staff, General Lucky Irabor, Chief of Army Staff, Lt. Gen. Farouk Yahaya; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Awwal Gambo; Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Isiaka Amao; and Inspector-General of Police, Usman Alkali Baba.

New service chiefs

The newly appointed service chiefs are:

Mallam Nuhu Ribadu, National Security Adviser

Maj. Gen. C.G Musa, Chief of Defence Staff

Maj. Gen. T. A Lagbaja, Chief of Army Staff

Rear Admiral E. A Ogalla, Chief of Naval Staff

AVM H.B Abubakar, Chief of Air Staff

DIG Kayode Egbetokun, Acting Inspector-General of Police

Maj. Gen. EPA Undiandeye, Chief of Defence Intelligence

Adeniyi Bashir Adewale, Ag. Comptroller-General of Customs.

Other top appointments include:

Col. Adebisi Onasanya, Brigade of Guards Commander

Lt. Col. Moshood Abiodun Yusuf, 7 Guards Battalion, Asokoro, Abuja

Lt. Col. Auwalu Baba Inuwa, 177 Guards Battalion, Keffi, Nasarawa State

Lt. Col. Mohammed J. Abdulkarim, 102 Guards Battalion, Suleja, Niger

Lt. Col. Olumide A. Akingbesote, 176 Guards Battalion, Gwagwalada, Abuja

Similarly, the President approved the appointments of other military officers in the Presidential Villa as follows:

Maj. Isa Farouk Audu, (N/14695) Commanding Officer State House Artillery

Capt. Kazeem Olalekan Sunmonu (N/16183), Second-in-Command, State House Artillery

Maj. Kamaru Koyejo Hamzat (N/14656), Commanding Officer, State House Military Intelligence

Maj. TS Adeola (N/12860), Commanding Officer, State House Armament

Lt. A. Aminu (N/18578) Second-in-Command, State House Armament.

Also, President Tinubu approved the appointments of two additional special advisers and two senior assistants. They are:

Hadiza Bala Usman, Special Adviser, Policy Coordination

Hannatu Musa Musawa, Special Adviser, Culture and Entertainment Economy

Senator Abdullahi Abubakar Gumel, Senior Special Assistant, National Assembly Matters (Senate)

Mr. Olarewaju Kunle Ibrahim, Senior Special Assistant, National Assembly Matters (House of Representatives)

“The appointed service chiefs, the Inspector-General of Police and the Comptroller-General of Customs are to act in their positions, pending their confirmation in accordance with the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria,” the statement added.

President Tinubu

About Binnabook

Binnabook Magazine Believes in Free Speech,Social Journalism with newsgathering and verification of Data.


Post a Comment

Your Views are needed.Thanks!

ECOWAS Chiefs of Defense proposed plan for 5,000 strong standby force

 Defense chiefs of West Africa proposed a plan on Thursday in Abuja, Nigeria, to deploy a 5,000-strong “standby force” aimed at tackling the...